Ironhack Challenge 2 : Wireframing Balance — Personalized meditation app

Inès Yessad
2 min readDec 30, 2020

--

« Balance is not something you find. It’s something you create. » Jana Kingsford

“Meditation that adapts to you”

Following my first medium post about design thinking, here I am with a new UI project conducted by Ironhack. In this project, I am asked to ‘reverse engineer’ one popular app by creating a wireframe.

Part of my everyday routine, Balance is one of my favorite mobile app. Let me tell you more about this app and why I chose it.

Balance app screenshots imported to Figma

About 500 million of people meditate worldwide. In recent years, the meditation stats show that the practice has been gaining in popularity.Elevate Labs recently launched Balance app, which is designed to replicate the experience of working with a live meditation coach.Meditations are planned according to your experience, your personality and desire.

What makes the app unique is the more you spend time on it, the more personalized and effective your meditations become.

Balance is an app that inspires me. It is very functional with a minimalist design. Every element is necessary. The color palette and illustrations are meant to be calming and to bring the mind down to the basics. This meditation app has an easy and intuitive user flow.

Let’s start with the creation of wireframes.

A wireframe is a visual representation of a user interface. I started with a low-fidelity wireframe to distinguish the important visual elements and turn that sketch into a mid-fidelity wireframe in Figma.

Mid-fidelity wireframe created in Figma

To conclude, I chose to use Figma for wireframes. It’s easy to use and has all the tools I needed to get the job done. The best way to build an effective wireframe is to start small and with the help of iterations I quickly learned and enjoyed working on this project.

--

--

Inès Yessad

Former Flight Attendant starting a new journey as a UX/UI Designer